Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Does the exact PT-1170S page-listed TZe family suit your tape choice?
The exact U.S. page lists TZe at 3.5, 6, 9 and 12 mm; no TZ route is credited for this separate SKU.
Explore this need in the finder →Would a QWERTY keyboard and maximum two-line output fit if you do not need media wider than 12 mm?
The exact page gives QWERTY and a two-line maximum, with TZe tape up to 12 mm; it does not state a 24 mm or larger cassette route.
Explore this need in the finder →Are the page-confirmed width and line ceiling enough, without assuming a cutter or power accessory?
The product page confirms narrow laminated printing but leaves its cutter, power and package contents unspecified; essential automatic-cut, adapter or included-case needs are not satisfied by unknowns.
Explore this need in the finder →Brother lists the PT-1170S as a discontinued P-touch Electronic Labeling System. Its exact U.S. product page confirms a QWERTY keyboard, thermal-transfer printing on laminated tape, a maximum of two print lines, a label-length setting, and TZe cassettes in 3.5, 6, 9 and 12 mm widths. The page also says there is no built-in handle. That is enough to identify the model’s published baseline, but not enough to fill in every detail a used-machine shopper may care about. Treat it as an earlier device whose useful fit depends on those exact published capabilities rather than on assumptions about its package or its similarly named relatives.
What the confirmed specification means
If your ordinary jobs fit a physical QWERTY layout and narrow TZe laminated labels, the published tape-width range reaches 12 mm and the specification lists up to two lines. That can suit compact names, short shelf descriptions and basic home-office organization. The maximum of two lines does not establish a print-height figure or tell you how tall a character will be on each cassette width, so do not use it as a substitute for a minimum-height requirement. Nor does a 12 mm cassette maximum meet a requirement for 18, 24 or 36 mm media. For wide equipment labels or large type, select a product whose exact page establishes the width and print area you need.
The exact product page’s TZe listing is particularly important when supplies are part of your decision. It directly names the family and four widths for PT-1170S; it does not establish the availability, current price or remaining stock of any cassette. The PT-1170 model has a separate Brother manual that names original TZ cassettes and gives different width instructions. That nearby guide is not treated here as proof of PT-1170S operation: the S model keeps its own page-backed TZe profile. If you already own this unit, match the cassette family and width to the PT-1170S label on the machine rather than relying on a listing for a related model.
Do not assume unlisted workflow details
The page confirms a keyboard and maximum line count, but does not establish the display size, memory, power source, cutter type, included adapter, included cassette, app support, computer connection, barcode tools or the contents of a particular package. Those unknowns matter more for a used unit than the headline feature list might suggest. If an automatic cutter, exact print height, named adapter or phone-composition workflow is essential, the PT-1170S does not meet that request on the evidence available here. A missing specification is not a promise that the capability exists. Check the model plate, ask what is physically included, and test a print before relying on an older machine.
The absence of a built-in handle is directly listed by Brother; that alone does not establish a device dimension or whether a carrying case came with a particular offer. Do not infer a case from the “S” suffix. Brother’s exact PT-1170S page does not describe its original carton contents. This review therefore does not treat it as a package with a case, adapter or starter cassette, and it does not invent a sales configuration from a reseller title.
Choose around the exact PT-1170S record
For the confirmed profile, consider it only if you opt into earlier models, want a built-in QWERTY keyboard, and can use TZe labels no wider than 12 mm with up to two lines. The width ceiling is important: an essential 18 mm, 24 mm or 36 mm request rules it out. If the job needs an automatic cutter, a particular AC adapter, a known display size or an app, do not read those capabilities into the page’s short specification table. Compare a model whose own manual and product page state the missing detail, then confirm the unit’s exact PT1170S marking. The similarly named PT-1170 is a separate Brother listing and its older TZ manual is not an operating guarantee for this one.
PT-1170S is worth considering only when you deliberately include earlier models and its page-confirmed QWERTY/TZe/two-line profile covers the job. If you need an independently documented power and cutting setup, compare the separate PT-1170 review, whose manual-backed TZ plan is not interchangeable with this model’s page-backed TZe record. For a newer household comparison, see the PT-D220 assessment and choose from that model’s own documented supplies and operating plan. The PT-1170S is not a substitute for a wider-format or connected label printer when those functions are essential.
Primary reference: Brother’s PT-1170S U.S. product page and specification table. The separate PT-1170 manual is not used to fill in PT-1170S-specific operation or package details.
Key details at a glance
| Print process | thermal transfer |
|---|---|
| Maximum tape width | 12 mm |
| Compatible cassette | Exact PT1170S U.S. page lists TZe laminated tape in 3.5, 6, 9 and 12 mm. The similar PT-1170 guide is not used to fill in this model’s operating details. |
| Maximum lines per label | 2 |
| Line-count note | The exact PT1170S page gives a maximum of two lines but does not state a minimum cassette width for that layout. |
| Power choices | Power source and adapter compatibility/inclusion are not specified on the exact PT1170S page. |
| What the base package supplies | The exact PT1170S page does not list a carton contents table or establish whether a cassette, adapter or case is included. |
| Letter-key arrangement | qwerty |
| Specialist media limits | Only exact page-listed TZe media is credited; no width-specific two-line limitation or broader media is inferred. |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
Put the device and its tape system together.
Match the exact model, cassette family, computer or network route and any optional power or touch-panel hardware before buying.
